1. Titles and Toolbars

    2. Homepage

    3. Curator Styles

    4. Group Overrides

    1. Pages Overview

    2. Tiles

    3. Error Pages

    4. SSRS Embedding

    5. Explorer

    6. User Customized Metrics

    1. Tutorials

    2. Search

    3. Managing Menus

    4. Menu Items

    5. Keywords

    6. Files

    7. Notices

    8. Loading Screens

    1. Embedded Tableau Server Views

    2. Thumbnails

    3. Tagged Workbooks

    4. Favorites

    5. Email Subscriptions

    6. Data Export

    7. Download Workbook

    8. Share Workbook

    9. Custom Views

    10. Pause/Resume Changes

    11. Dashboard Titles

    1. Filters

    2. Parameters

    3. Apply Button

    4. Filter Categories

    5. Hidden Sticky Filters/Parameters

    6. Specify Filter Sheet

    7. Mark Commenting

    8. URL Action Overrides (Link Target)

    9. Hidden Dashboards

    10. Replace Dashboard URLs

    11. Site Switcher

    12. Cache Filter/Parameter Options

    1. Data Manager Basics

    2. Web Data Connector (WDC)

    3. Connecting to Data Manager

    4. User Commenting

    5. Field Calculations

    1. Overview and Enabling

    2. Report Builder: Scheduled Reports Option

    3. Report Builder: Email Option

    4. Report Builder: Watermark Text

    1. Automatic License Provisioning

    2. Just-in-time (JIT) Provisioning

    3. Users and Groups

    4. Reset User's Password

    1. Frontend User Permissions

    2. Password Change

    3. Password Reset

    4. Password Expiration and Complexity

    1. E-mail Configuration

    1. Force SSL

    2. Trusted Tickets

    3. Basic HTTP Authentication

    1. Import / Export

    2. Backend Users

    3. Frontend Users

    4. Updating License Key

    5. Linux: Cron Troubleshooting

    6. Filesystem Permissions

    7. Backend Administrator Password Reset

    8. Dependency Updates

    9. Manual Restoration of Curator Backup

    10. Updating Curator Logging

    11. Third Party Cookies

    12. Troubleshooting Load Times

    13. Curator Backup

    14. Taking a Manual Full Backup

    1. System Upgrade

    2. Disable Curator Upgrades

    3. Offline Upgrades (Airgapped)

    4. Troubleshooting Upgrades

    1. Scripts

    2. Commands

    3. Subscription Routing

    1. Curator API Overview

    2. Integration

    3. Curator API

    4. Tableau API

    5. Content

    6. User API

    1. Username Mapping

Documentation: Theme

Group Overrides

When using Curator, you may want to surface different content to different users. You can achieve this using Curator's Group Overrides. Whether you want to show a homepage to a certain subset of users or you want to change the colors and logos for a specific client, you can use groups (synced from Tableau or your SAML provider) to modify the look and feel of your Curator site. For additional info, view our Group Overrides blog post here.

To Create a new Group Override

  1. Login to the backend of your Curator instance (e.g. https://www.site.com/backend).
  2. Navigate to the Settings > Users > Frontend Group Overrides section from the left-hand menu.
  3. Click the 'New Group Override' button at the top.
  4. From the Frontend Group list, select the group you would like these settings to apply to.
  5. Give the group override a title, if a user has access to multiple groups, this will be the title that is displayed that allows them to switch between group overrides*.
  6. Modify the settings you wish to override for this group using the tabbed form fields at the bottom of the page, and once you're done, click Save.

*Disabling Group Switching

By default, users who have access to multiple group overrides will be allowed to cycle through the group overrides they belong to. You can disable this using the steps below:

  1. Login to the backend of your Curator instance (e.g. https://www.site.com/backend).
  2. Navigate to the Settings > Curator > Portal Settings section from the left-hand menu.
  3. Click on the 'Features' tab and expand the 'Usability' section at the bottom of the page.
  4. Toggle Group Override Selector to the off position.
  5. Save your settings.